What kind of penalties do I face if I get a DUI in PA?
Getting a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction in Pennsylvania can come with serious penalties. It is important to note that the penalties that come with these kinds of charges are generally governed by state law. As such, the penalties that follow are specific to Pennsylvania.
These penalties can include:
- License suspension. A driver can lose his or her driver’s license for up to 12 months for a second offense.
- Monetary fine. Even a first offense can result in a fee. A $300 fine is generally issued for a first offense, but this cost can go up to $2,500 for a second offense.
- Prison time. A DUI conviction can lead to 6 months of prison time for a second offense and two years for a third.
These penalties are connected to charges of general impairment. This means the driver had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) that ranges from 0.08 to 0.099. Various factors, such as a higher BAC, can result in an increase in penalties.
It is important to note that anyone that is facing these penalties has options. The law provides that you are innocent until proven guilty, and this holds true for drunk driving charges. The charges must be supported with evidence in order to turn into a conviction. As such, you have an opportunity to fight these charges.
Those in this situation are wise to seek legal counsel. An experienced DUI attorney can build a case against these charges, advocating for your rights and working to preserve your innocence.